Ryan Institute Core Staff

The Ryan Institute is led by a Director, Deputy Directors and the Ryan Institute Executive Committee, supported by the Ryan Institute Operations Team and the Ryan Institute Technical Support Team. 

 

Director

Deputy Directors

I am a marine ecologist with a particular interest in spatial ecology. I use experiments, survey, computer simulation and data analysis to understand patterns of population abundance and assemblage composition. My experience includes both benthic and pelagic ecology. The different approaches can be applied to address questions in conservation, fisheries, introduced species, monitoring, environmental management and compliance to legislation.

  • Environmental Engineering
  • Marine & Coastal Engineering
  • Structural Engineering
  • Sustainability and the Built Environment

Dr. Hartnett is the Research Director of the Marine Modelling Centre. Activities within the centre include: deep ocean water circulation modelling; estuarine and coastal circulation modelling; nutrient modelling; water quality modelling; biological modelling; heavy metal modelling; wave climate modelling; and modelling air-sea interfaces.

Strategic Development Manager

VACANT

 

 

Ryan Institute Operations Team

Suzanne Nolan (full-time)

Research Administrator

Martin Ryan Building

+353 (0)91 493583

suzanne.nolan@nuigalway.ie

 

Norah O’Halloran (full-time)

Research Administrator

Martin Ryan Building

+353 (0)91 492644

norah.ohalloran@nuigalway.ie

 

Mary Gannon (half-time)

Research Administrator

Martin Ryan Building

+353 (0)91 492325

mary.gannon@nuigalway.ie

 

Caroline Murphy (half-time)

Research Administrator

Orbsen Building

+353 (0)91 493548

caroline.murphy@nuigalway.ie

 

Bernadette Uí Mhaoilchiaráin (half-time)

Research Administrator

bernadette.niniadh@nuigalway.ie

+353 (0)95 32201

 

VACANT (half-time)

Research Administrator

 

 

Ryan Institute Technical Support Team

Oilibhéar ó Niaidh (full-time)

Chief Technical Officer

 oilibhear.oniaidh@nuigalway.ie

 

Colm Moriarty (full-time)

Senior Technical Officer

Martin Ryan Building

+353 (0)91 493239

colm.moriarty@nuigalway.ie

 

Kieran O’Halloran (full-time)

Senior Technical Officer

kieran.ohalloran@nuigalway.ie

+353 (0)95 32201

 

Owen Doherty (full-time)

Senior Technical Officer

Orbsen Building

+353 (0)91 492974

owen.doherty@nuigalway.ie

 

Sean Casey

General Operative

sean.casey@nuigalway.ie

+353 (0)95 32201 

 

 

                           YouTube icon 50px                  Ryan Institute logo

Communication Team

catherine jordan communication teamCatherine Jordan

Communication Officer

c.jordan4@nuigalway.ie

 

Isabel MclaughlinIsabel Mclaughlin

Communication Officer

i.mclaughlin2@nuigalway.ie

 

Peyman Sadrimajd

Communication Officer

p.sadrimajd1@nuigalway.ie

 

Jewel Das

Research metrics officer

j.das4@nuigalway.ie